Fort Worth, Texas – Those competing in the Finals (which required, firstly, Piano Quintets – those chosen were by Brahms, Dvořák and Franck – with the Brentano Quartet, and then Piano Concertos, by Beethoven, Prokofiev, Rachmaninov and Tchaikovsky) were:
Kenneth Broberg, United States, 23
Rachel Cheung, Hong Kong, 25
Yury Favorin, Russia, 30
Daniel Hsu, United States, 19
Yekwon Sunwoo, South Korea, 28
Georgy Tchaidze, Russia, 29

The Winner is Yekwon Sunwoo; he played Rachmaninov's Piano Concerto No.3 in the Final.

The venue was Bass Performance Hall and the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra was conducted by Leonard Slatkin (Jury Chairman).

In addition to Slatkin, the Jury consisted of Arnaldo Cohen, Christopher Elton, Marc-André Hamelin (who composed the test piece), Joseph Kalichstein, Mari Kodama, Anne-Marie McDermott, Erik T. Tawaststjerna and Alexander Toradze.

Following the concluding three Concertos, the Awards Ceremony took place on Saturday June 10 beginning at 7 o’clock p.m. Central Time. The Competition, which started with thirty pianists, had been running since May 25.

Gold Medallist Yekwon Sunwoo wins $50,000. He and also the silver- and bronze-medal winners, respectively Kenneth Broberg and Daniel Hsu, will have competition recordings issued on Decca Gold.


© 1999 - 2018 Limited. All Rights Reserved