Catherine Deneuve, Riccardo Muti, Pierre Alechinsky, Fujiko Nakaya, Christian de Portzamparc are Recipients in the 30thAnniversary Year

Britain’s Shakespeare Schools Foundation Receives Grant for Young Artists, Nominated by Lord Patten of Barnes

The Japan Art Association has today announced the recipients of the 2018 Praemium Imperiale Awards:

Theatre/Film: Catherine Deneuve

Music: Riccardo Muti

Painting: Pierre Alechinsky

Sculpture: Fujiko Nakaya

Architecture: Christian de Portzamparc

Each Laureate receives an honorarium of 15 million Yen (c. £100,000). The awards will be presented by His Imperial Highness Prince Hitachi, Honorary Patron of the Japan Art Association and younger brother of the current Emperor of Japan, in a ceremony in Japan this October.

In addition to the Praemium Imperiale Awards, the 5 million Yen (c. £33,000) Grant for Young Artists has been awarded to the British education charity Shakespeare Schools Foundation, nominated by Lord Patten of Barnes, Praemium Imperiale’s International Advisor in the UK.

Lord Patten remarked: “Shakespeare Schools Foundation do a fantastic job - just look at the Impact Report on their web site. Using Shakespeare's timeless works they challenge young people from all backgrounds, increasing their confidence, self-esteem, literacy, teamwork and communication skills. It shows that great art is not just for the few and not just for a historical period, but forever.”

Since 1989, the Praemium Imperiale Awards have been given annually in the categories of Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Music and Theatre/Film to cover fields of achievement not represented by the Nobel Prizes. The Laureates are chosen from a list submitted by six International Advisors to the Japan Art Association.

While maintaining the Awards' original mandate to select candidates who have made a major international impact in their particular field, the International Advisors for the Awards and their committees have been looking beyond their national boundaries for ground-breaking artists to recommend to the Japan Art Association.

Previous British winners include David Hockney, Anish Kapoor, Antony Gormley, Norman Foster, Richard Rogers, David Chipperfield, Judi Dench, Anthony Caro and Tony Cragg.


© 1999 - 2019 Limited. All Rights Reserved