BSO musicians James Sommerville, William R. Hudgins, BSO Managing Director Mark Volpe, American Classical Music Hall of Fame President Gary L. Ingle, and BSO musicians Jonathan Menkis and Catherine French with a commemorative medallion on Monday, August 13, at Highwood Manor at Tanglewood
Photograph: Hilary Scott CINCINNATI, OHIO—The American Classical Music Hall of Fame is pleased to announce the induction of its newest member, Tanglewood, summer home of the Boston Symphony Orchestra. Hall of Fame President Gary L. Ingle presented Mark Volpe, managing director of the Boston Symphony Orchestra, with a commemorative medallion at the Highwood Manor on Monday, August 13, 2018.

In August 1934, a group of music-loving Berkshire summer residents arranged for members of the New York Philharmonic to perform three outdoor concerts at Interlochen, a successful venture that was repeated in 1935. The Festival Committee then invited Serge Koussevitzky and the Boston Symphony Orchestra to take part the following year. In the winter of 1936, Mrs. Gorham Brooks and Miss Mary Aspinwall Tappan offered Tanglewood, the Tappan family estate, with its buildings and 210 acres of lawns and meadows, as a gift to Koussevitzky and the orchestra. The first BSO concerts at Tanglewood took place in summer 1937.

In 1940, the Berkshire Music Center (now the Tanglewood Music Center) began its operations. By 1941, the Theatre-Concert Hall, the Chamber Music Hall and several small studios were finished, and the festival was attracting nearly 100,000 visitors annually. Today, Tanglewood annually draws more than 350,000 visitors. Each season offers not only a vast quantity of music, but also a vast range of musical forms and styles, all of it presented with a regard for artistic excellence that makes the festival unique.

Founded in 1996, The American Classical Music Hall of Fame seeks to build and sustain enthusiasm for classical music in America by celebrating diverse facets of classical music excellence. The Hall of Fame Inductees are selected through a rigorous process involving nominations and voting. The process is overseen by members of the Inductee Selection Committee, which included Earl Rivers, chair; Janelle Gelfand; Brian Shepard and Marie Speziale. Additional oversight comes from a National Artistic Council, chaired by composer Samuel Adler.

In May 1998, the first induction took place at Cincinnati’s Historic Music Hall during a concert by the United States Marine Band. This event marked the launch of the Hall of Fame as an award-granting body. It now has over 100 inductees, which it honors through special events nationwide and via its website:


© 1999 - 2020 Limited. All Rights Reserved