Finals took place on Friday November 16

The first prize was not awarded in the VII International Jorma Panula Conducting Competition. The second prize was divided between Johannes Zahn (Germany) and Angus Webster (United Kingdom). The third prize was divided between Ross Jamie Collins (Finland) and Kaapo Ijas (Finland). Angus Webster was chosen as the competition orchestra's favorite.

I Prize: -

II Prize 8 000 €: Johannes Zahn (Germany) & Angus Webster (United Kingdom)

III Prize 4 500 €: Ross Jamie Collins (Finland) & Kaapo Ijas (Finland)

The competition orchestra's favourite: Angus Webster

The VII International Jorma Panula Conducting Competition was held between 13th and 16th November with 20 talented young conductors representing nine different countries. The four-day competition culminated on Friday 16th November at the Vaasa City Hall in Finland in the Finals concert which the Finnish Broadcasting Company (Yle) broadcasted live on channel Yle Teema Fem and internationally in the web streaming service Areena. The competition's final and semi-final are viewable in Areena for one year.

The International Jorma Panula Conducting Competition is one of the most prestigious conducting competitions in Europe and it is the only conducting competition in Finland. The event is organized by the Viljo and Maire Vuorio Foundation in collaboration with the City of Vaasa. The triennial competition’s Artistic Director and Chairman has been from the beginning Academician Jorma Panula. The current competition’s jury consisted of conductors Ralf Gothóni (Finland), Eva Ollikainen (Finland), Ole Kristian Ruud (Norway) and Josep Caballé Domenech (Spain). Moreover, one musician representative from each of the competition orchestras, Pontus Grans (Vaasa City Orchestra) and Jussi Järvenpää (Jyväskylä Sinfonia) were included in the jury.


© 1999 - 2019 Limited. All Rights Reserved