The finalists are, in alphabetical order:

Teaa An, mezzo-soprano, South Korean

Stefan Astakhov, baritone, German

Olga Cheremnykh, soprano, Russian

Jussi Juola, bass, Finnish

Palesa Malieloa, soprano, South African

Bryan Murray, baritone, American

Rodrigo Sosa Dal Pozzo, countertenor, Italian, Venezuelan

Johanna Wallroth, soprano, Swedish

The members of the Jury vote independently and do not discuss the performances during the voting procedure. The chairman of the 2019 Jury is the Artistic Director of the Savonlinna Opera Festival, Jorma Silvasti. The members are Olaf Bär, Ben Heppner, Vesselina Kasarova, François Le Roux, Waltraud Meier, Deborah Polaski and Kiri Te Kanawa.

Two works with orchestral accompaniment to be heard in the Final

The finalists will perform at the Helsinki Music Centre on 29 August, accompanied by the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra conducted by Hannu Lintu.

The repertoire for the Final consists of two works with orchestral accompaniment, of which at least one must be an opera, oratorio, cantata or concert aria. Together they must last not more than 20 minutes.

The Competition Final is 29 May 2019.


© 1999 - 2019 Limited. All Rights Reserved