The Swiss symphony orchestra Musikkollegium Winterthur has launched an international composition contest under the title «Rychenberg Competition».

From 191 registered, 85 candidates submitted their compositions to the contest. A jury evaluated the submitted works anonymously and nominated 10 composers, whose compositions will be played and video recorded by the Musikkollegium Winterthur to be published online for a public voting. The ten nominated composers get the chance of winning money prizes worth a total of CHF 100,000.

In June 2018 the Musikkollegium Winterthur announced its international composition contest under the title «Rychenberg Competition». The title is a reference to the time in the first half of the 20th century, where contemporary composers such as Igor Strawinsky, Arnold Schönberg and Anton Webern composed for the Musikkollegium Winterthur and were frequent guests at the Villa Rychenberg, at the time residence of the greatest patron and supporter of the Musikkollegium Winterthur, Werner Reinhart.

A total of 191 composers from over 30 countries applied for the composition contest, from which 85 candidates submitted their works, all of them based on one of the three photography series by young artists, especially selected for this occasion by the Winterthur Foto Museum. The jury, chaired by the Swiss composer Alfred Zimmerlin, studied the scores separately and without knowledge of the composers’ names.

At a jury conference in May 10 composers have been nominated, whose compositions are to be played and recorded on video by the Musikkollegium Winterthur in August 2019 and thereafter published online for a public voting. Besides the audience prize, resulting from the public voting, the jury will award 4 further prizes, amounting a total of CHF 100,000.

The 10 nominees:

Name: Nationality: Birth year: Work title:

Cecilia Arditto Argentina 1966 TISSUE

Annachiara Gedda Italy 1986 Chasing Ice

Alexandra Karastoyanova-Hermentin Austria 1968 Tarsis

Sampo Kasurinen Finland 1990 Valo

Bileam Kümper Germany 1971 Three Under-Ice Soundscapes

Fabian Künzli Switzerland 1984 Die liegende Sanduhr

Hiroshi Nakamura Japan 1965 Nostalgia – Le Voyage intérieur

Simon James Phillips Australia 1973 Skein

Valerio Rossi Italy 1959 ICE_one_h

Verena Weinmann Switzerland 1994 Hills of Torreón

The prize winners‘ concert with works by 4-5 finalists will take place on June 12th 2020 in Stadthaus Winterthur. The «Rychenberg Competition» is made possible by the support of the «Lotteriefonds des Kantons Zürich».


© 1999 - 2020 Limited. All Rights Reserved