CHICAGO—Chicago Symphony Orchestra (CSO) Music Director Riccardo Muti announces the appointment of Esteban Batallán as principal trumpet of the CSO. Batallán will hold The Adolph Herseth Principal Trumpet Chair, endowed by an anonymous benefactor. He recently completed the final phase of the audition process, which included a trial period with Muti and the CSO this month, and he officially steps into the role on September 30, 2019, pending finalization of contract details.

Batallán previously appeared with the CSO as guest principal trumpet on several occasions. He first appeared with the CSO under Riccardo Muti in June 2018 subscription concerts that included performances of Rossini’s Stabat mater. He returned to perform with Muti and the CSO in Verdi’s Requiem on November 2018 subscription concerts, as well as in Tokyo during the 2019 Asia tour. More recently, he performed with Muti and the CSO on its 2019 Florida Tour, as well as in June 2019 for Verdi’s Aida before winning the audition that same month.

Prior to his appointment to the CSO, Batallán served as principal trumpet of the Hong Kong Philharmonic for the 2018/19 season and for the Orchestra of the City of Granada from 2002 to 2018.He also served as the guest principal trumpet with the Orchestra del Teatroalla Scala and the Filarmonica della Scala from 2015 to 2018 in addition to hisrole as guest principal trumpet of the Royal Orchestra of Seville from 2010 to 2014.

Batallán rose to international acclaim after winning several prestigious competitions including the Jeunesses Musicales of Spain Competition in 2001, Yamaha Xeno National Competition in 2002, the Yamaha International Competition in 2003 and was a prizewinner at the 2006 Maurice André International Trumpet Competition. Batallán has also appeared with distinguished orchestras around the world including the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, English Chamber Orchestra and Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, and has worked under esteemed conductors including Jaap van Zweden, Zubin Mehta, Bernard Haitink, Vladmir Ashkenazy and Riccardo Chailly, among others.


© 1999 - 2019 Limited. All Rights Reserved